Santuario de San Pedro Bautista, stands in holy ground because our patron saint, San Pedro Bautista, lives here.
Very few parishes in the world can claim such sanctity and honor.
San Pedro Bautista establihed the foundation of our Church in 1590. When he was elected Custos or Superior of all
the Franciscans in the Philippines, he saw the need for a secluded place where the missionaries could recharge physically
He found an elevatedarea of 250 hectares thickly weed, surrounded by a creek and with eight water springs. Fray Pedro
Bautista built a little convent and a chapel of bamboo and nipa. He dedicated these to Our Lady of Montecelli. The Place
was opened as a house of retreat for missionaries and novitiate house.
The Chapel was replaced first by a wooden structure, then by stone structure in 1599. It The Chapel was destroyed
during Limahong-led uprising in 1639 and completely destroyed by an earthquake in 1645.
In 1699. a church made of stone was built and the convent was restructured. This was dedicated to the newly beatified
Blessed Pedro Bautista and his companion martyrs. This church has now become the sanctury with the Baroque altar still
In 1895, the friars abandoned the place and Filipino revolutionary forces occupied the church.
In 1914, the Church was blessed and a town fiesta was held to honor San Pedro Bautista.
On November 11, 1932, the Church was declared a parish named in honor of the founder and patron saint, San Pedro
Bautista. Before the decree, the parish belonged to the parish of Caloocan.
In 1989, the three-centuries old baroque altar was transferred to the main sanctury.
In 1990, a statue of San Pedro Bautista was enshrined at the center of the altar.
On February 5, 1997, the parish marked the 400th Anniversary of the Martyrdom of San Pedro Bautista.
On February 25, 2001, the parish church was declared an archdiocesan shrine to be known as Santuario de San Pedro Bautista
in view of its historical and religious significance.